Forty-three Beaujolais communes ejected from Burgundy AOC

Cave de Fleurie in Beaujolais
Cave de Fleurie in Beaujolais (c) Joris Leermakers - used with permission

INAO, the French government agency which regulates the appellations d’origine, has rearranged the geographic vineyard areas in Burgundy after a regulating process that took three years to complete. From vintage 2011 onwards, 43 municipalities in Beaujolais lose the right to sell wines under the Burgundy appellation which they had since 1937. Henceforth, 43 municipalities in Beaujolais are no longer allowed to sell their Chardonnay wines as AOC Bourgogne Blanc. From now on those white wines will be sold as AOC Beaujolais Blanc. Only 2% of all wines produced in Beaujolais are affected, representing a total of 250 acres of Chardonnay. 42 other municipalities in Beaujolais may still produce Bourgogne Blanc. Beaujolais municipalities with a certain reputation such as Fleurie or Morgon are not affected by the new AOC rules. For their red wines nine Beaujolais Crus (all except Régnié) may still use the AOC Burgundy. But if the red wine contains over 30% Gamay grapes it must from now on be labeled as Gamay AOC Burgundy. Both Burgundy and Beaujolais winemakers may use the new AOC Coteaux Bourguignon for their entry level wines. This new AOC will gradually replace the AOC Bourgogne Grande Ordinaire over the next five years.